top of page

Lancashire Cricket Club

Steeped in history, Lancashire Cricket Club was formed in 1864 and is one of eighteen first class counties within the domestic structure of England and Wales. In this section of the site you can read all about our proud and distinguished heritage, where we play, vacancies, green initiatives as well as the Officers involved at the Club.


History of the county club

The historic county of Lancashire in English cricket. The club has held first-class status since it was founded in 1864. Lancashire's home is Old Trafford Cricket Ground, although the team also play matches at other grounds around the county. Lancashire was a founder member of the County Championship in 1890 and have won the competition nine times, most recently in 2011. The club's limited overs team is called Lancashire Lightning.

Lancashire were widely recognised as the Champion County four times between 1879 and 1889. They won their first two County Championship titles in the 1897 and 1904 seasons. Between 1926 and 1934, they won the championship five times. Throughout most of the inter-war period, Lancashire and their neighbours Yorkshire had the best two teams in England and the Roses Matches between them were usually the highlight of the domestic season. In 1950, Lancashire shared the title with Surrey. The County Championship was restructured in 2000 with Lancashire in the first division. They won the 2011 County Championship, a gap of 77 years since the club's last outright title in 1934.

In 1895, Archie MacLaren scored 424 in an innings for Lancashire, which remains the highest score by an Englishman in first-class cricket. Johnny Briggs, whose career lasted from 1879 to 1900, was the first player to score 10,000 runs and take 1,000 wickets for Lancashire. Ernest Tyldesley, younger brother of Johnny Tyldesley, is the club's leading run-scorer with 34,222 runs in 573 matches for Lancashire between 1909 and 1936. Fast bowler Brian Statham took a club record 1,816 wickets in 430 first-class matches between 1950 and 1968. England batsman Cyril Washbrook became Lancashire's first professional captain in 1954.

The Lancashire side of the late 1960s and early 1970s, captained by Jack Bond and featuring the West Indian batsman Clive Lloyd, was successful in limited overs cricket, winning the Sunday League in 1969 and 1970 and the Gillette Cup four times between 1970 and 1975. Lancashire won the Benson and Hedges Cup in 1984, three times between 1990 and 1996, and the Sunday League in 19891998 and 1999. They won the Twenty20 Cup for the first time in 2015.

Johnny Briggs played for Lancashire between 1879 and 1900 and is the only player to have scored 10,000 runs and taken 1,000 wickets for the club in first-class cricket

On Tuesday, 12 January 1864, Manchester Cricket Club organised a meeting at the Queen's Hotel in Manchester for the purpose of forming a club to represent the county. Thirteen local clubs were represented: Broughton, Longsight, Manchester and Western from the Manchester area; Huyton, Liverpool and Northern from Merseyside; Accrington, Ashton, Blackburn, Oldham, Whalley and Wigan from other towns. Lancashire County Cricket Club was founded with the object of, it was said, "spreading a thorough knowledge and appreciation of the game throughout Lancashire".[6] It was intended to stage home matches alternately at Old TraffordAigburth, Preston, Blackburn and at "other places to help introduce good cricket throughout the county".[6]

The new county club played its first-ever official game at Warrington against Birkenhead Park on Wednesday, 15 June 1864 but that was not a first-class match. The first inter-county match, which was first-class, was played in 1865 at Old Trafford against Middlesex; Lancashire won the match by 62 runs, although Middlesex's V. E. Walker took all ten wickets in Lancashire's second innings.





Sale Sharks is a professional rugby union club from Greater ManchesterEngland. They play in Premiership Rugby, England's top division of rugby.Originally founded in 1861 as Sale Football Club, now a distinct amateur club, they adopted the nickname Sharks in 1999. Since 2012 they have played their home games at the A.J. Bell Stadium in Barton-upon-IrwellSalford. Between 1905 and 2003 they played at Heywood Road in Sale, before moving to Edgeley Park in Stockport where they stayed until 2012.


Their traditional colours are blue and white.

Sale have won four major trophies. They were Premiership Rugby Champions in 2005/06, won the European Rugby Challenge Cup in 2001/022004/05 and the Premiership Rugby Cup in 2019/20. They also won the RFU Championship in 1994.

In the 2020–21 Premiership Rugby season Sale finished 3rd, losing in the play-off semi-finals, this entitled them to compete in the 2021–22 European Rugby Champions Cup. The Director of Rugby is Alex Sanderson who was appointed in January 2021 following the departure of Steve Diamond in December 2020





The Salford Red Devils are a professional rugby league club in SalfordGreater Manchester, England, who play in the Super League. Formed in 1873, they have won six Championships and one Challenge Cup. Their home ground since 2012 has been the AJ Bell Stadium in Barton-upon-Irwell, before which they played at the Willows in Weaste. Before 1995, the club was known simply as Salford, from 1995 to 1998 Salford Reds and from 1999 to 2013 Salford City Reds


bottom of page